Dear Bollywood Movies, Every Indian Girl has Something to Say to You

Just like every other Indian girl, my childhood also went away dancing to the tunes of Hum Aapke Hain Kaun and Dil Toh Pagal Hai. I still remember how my Sunday would go by dancing infront of the mirror and dreaming about all the good things that happened to those ‘grown-up’ girls (actresses)  in the movies. *Admit it! you were just 6 and all you would do when a song from Dil Toh Pagal Hai played, was to start dancing right away with an imaginary soul mate of yours. Well, I did.* For us Indian girls, these movies have somewhere been the cause of unrealistic expectation and then of course, disappointment. They’ve made us dream and then when those dreams didn’t come true, they’ve made us cry. We were never told until we became teenagers and our premonitions about the ‘Bollywood’ life grew strong, that these movies had very little to do with the life out there.

Without yapping much, let me tell you which 5 movies set my expectations of life out of this planet. Some of my expectations from life and the disappointment that brews off from them is because of these movies. The list is a huge one, but I’d like to tell you about the top 5 here:

Kuch Kuch Hota Hai: *The movie still makes me swoon.* Wowwwww!!!! “Rahul, Take a Chill Pill”, was the dialogue I rehearsed at that age for like a million times. Every other time that I came across a kid named Rahul, I would say that out of the blue moon. *I tell you, I was pretty good at it.* Not just that, like Anjali turning into an Indian belle from a tomboy was something I thought would come to my life sooner or later. And yes, that hairstyle Kajol sported for the first half of the movie, I did the same of the later half of the year. I even had a dress with ‘Kuch Kuch Hota Hai’ monogrammed on it. *Suddenly, feeling silly.*

Kuch Kuch Hota Hai
Kuch Kuch Hota Hai

Hum Aapke Hain Kaun: I was in my mother’s lap when this one was released. But, Of course you get to see all the epic movies when you grow up a little. With this one and Madhuri Dixit looking beyond beautiful, I thought this is what weddings are like. Every wedding I went to after watching this movie, I had a signature outfit. Yes, the white and green one that Madhuri wore in one of the parts of the movie. Not one, but 10 weddings, I wore that! *Godddddddd*

Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gum: In my pre-teens, Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gum set my dreams for college just too high. Yes, Pooh is what I’m talking about. I always loved Kareena and with this one, I followed her on everything. *The ‘Wateva’, hasn’t left me alone till date. So, you know what I’m talking about here.* Everything about Hrithik and Kareena, the college was superb. I actually thought I’d be going to King’s College London for my grad studies. Let’s not talk about where I eventually landed up. *I don’t want to see you guys in tears.*

Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gam
Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gam

Jab We Met: Kareena Kapoor, again!! Watched the movie around 57 times and eloping  to Manali is still on my list. However, not for a guy! The idea of being like Geet and falling in love with someone like Aditya, blew me away! I actually heard the song ‘Aaoge Jab Tum Oo Sajna’ almost every night for months altogether. *Yes, and I’ve even cried to it a million times.*

Queen: Yes, the latest Queen is what I’m talking about. Getting dumped on the eve of  marriage doesn’t scare me now. Flying to Paris is now on the list. *Come on, Solo Traveling is not a big deal today, how does it set your expectation high? That’s what you’ve thought right?* Not every girl from a middle class family in India can do it even today. Getting drunk and dancing to ‘Humgaammaaa Hogayyyaa’ in a foreign city, that’s not something every girl can do. And, with this movie, we hope (fickle one) that if we face a similar situation, going on a solo honeymoon is what we can do.

These Bollywood movies have really kept us Indian girls away from the real face of life for years. We all have something to say to these virtual projection of perfect lives. My list doesn’t end here. Movies like DDLJ, Hum Saath Saath Hain, Vivaah etc etc etc etc etc etc etc ETC are a part of this unending list of mine.

Do you agree? Shoot a comment below!

Teesha

3 thoughts on “Dear Bollywood Movies, Every Indian Girl has Something to Say to You

  1. I am a guy. Yet i loved this post.
    I didn’t like the earlier movies because well maybe because i couldn’t as i am a guy
    now ii am old and i understand how lovely these movies are truly.
    BTW, its a long mystery to me, but why jab we met is in every Indian girls loop watching movie list.
    I haven’t come across any girl whose fav movie wasn’t Jab we met, or maybe i date only stereotyped.
    . I wonder if you can write a post on that.
    i would appreciate being enlightened.

    1. Hi

      Firstly, thanks for stopping by and taking time to go through this post. 🙂 I’m glad you liked it.

      About Jab we Met, I’ve actually come across a lot of friends myself who love it. It sure is on every Indian girl’s watching-movie list. I yet have to figure out why!
      Doing a post particularly on this one is a brilliant idea, I’d definitely give it a shot.

      Thanks 🙂

      Teesha

Leave a Reply

